• Eastern Cape Rising Sun

Border 100 Motorsport Club celebrates 60 years

Sun Moodley on his way to winning the Modified Saloon car sprint race event. His sister car won The Border 100 Endurance Race. Photos By Peter Taylor

By Johan van der Westhuizen

The Border Motorsport Club celebrated the 60th anniversary of the East London Grand Prix (ELGP) circuit in its current format with the Border 100 race meeting on the weekend. Motor racing enthusiasts from KZN, Gauteng and Cape Town joined forces with the Border competitors culminating in over 100 entries for the event.

As South Africa’s fastest circuit, Friday’s practice started out in wet conditions leaving first-time visitors with worried faces.

On a dry track on Saturday the Sprint races consisting of two 8-lap heats took place in the Modified, Historic and Open Top categories. In the Open Top category, local driver Carl Boshoff ran away from the field in Class A.

Class B saw very close racing taking place between visitors Mark Fucther, Allen Spies, and John Oliver. Class C was won by local talent Cherné Marais.

The Historic sprint races saw some excellent racing in the mid and rear packs with the visiting KZN Retro Racing Club enjoying themselves in what was their first official visit to the ELGP circuit.

Danian Staffen in his Ford Capri V8 won overall followed by Mike Forsyth (Cobra V8) and Tiny Botha (Ford Escort). In the Modifieds, Bigfoot Express racer, Sun Moodley took the overall win in his Porsche GT3 followed by Border competitors Julian Herman (Polo Turbo) and Chris Farley (BMW M3).

The weekend's main event, The Border 100 Endurance Races, taking place over 100 miles in celebration of the original race when the Border 100 took place in 1934.

The race saw a magnificent field of 36 starters with some excellent duals throughout the race. The Clerk of Course, Eric Schultz performed a sterling job in directing the race meeting and deployed a Safety Car after 50 min into the race to clear the circuit from a broken down competitor in the interest of the safety of the competitors.

The Safety Car caused competing teams to think on their feet and adapt their race and pit stop strategies, which made for very exciting competition.

Category winners in the Modifieds were the team of Quentin Lessing and Darron Gudmanz (Border). In Historics, John Bronner (KZN) took top honours.

In the overall classifications, Andrew Culbert of the Bigfoot Express Porsche GT3 team took first, followed closely by Trevor Frost in a Ligier JS49. Sun Moodley in the second Bigfoot Express Porsche was third.

The Index of Performance was dominated by Border teams who used their local knowledge effectively. First place went to Johan van der Westhuizen in the Hi-Way Racing team’s Renault R10, followed closely by the combined Gudmanz Racing and Smuggler’s team of Quentin Lessing and Darron Gudmanz in a 4WD Turbo Evo. Brothers Gary and Michael Marais from GB Racing flew in from the UK to compete and placed third in their Lotus 7.

Recent Posts

See All





99 Western Avenue, Vincent

East London, Eastern Cape

Tel: 043 050 5250

061 404 1657

Get all the latest news and updates from Eastern Cape Rising Sun.

©2019 Eastern Cape Rising Sun. Designed and developed by Media 101 | Eleven24 Design