• Rising Sun EC

Karting champs crowned at Border

Updated: Aug 6, 2019

The 2nd round of the EP and Border Regional Karting Championship was held in perfect weather on Saturday, May 18, on Border’s home turf.

Several local initiatives, notably the Border Karting Academy, and their spin off, the 4 stroke Clubmans Class, as well as the S2R Corporate Endurance Series, have all seen numbers migrating into mainstream karting.

As a result, for the first time in decades, a field of 60 karts turned up on race day. We salute the unsung heroes working in the back ground to make this a reality.

First up was the Bambino Class, where Caleb Odendaal dominated proceedings, having just returned from competing up country.

He put this experience to good effect taking pole position and subsequently winning each heat, at laprecord times to boot. Second placed man was Rhoderick Simpson, all the way from George. Rhoderick had an excellent days racing with three fine second places.

PE’2 Jack Moore was 3rd, with the ever improving Caleb Moss pipping him to 3rd place in the final to claim 4th overall for the day. Lincoln Randall in 5th place was the next Border driver home, followed by Traiton Boshoff and Isabel Ferreira.

The newly introduced Kid Rok Class fielded three karts, where Grayson van Zuumeren took pole, but the wins went to Aiden Green in heat one and Joshua Moore took the next two heats, ahead of Aiden Green and Grayson van Zuumeren.

In the Mini Rok Class Daniel van Zuumeren took pole, along with three wins, ahead of Redd Scholtz and Jordan van der Merwe. New local lad with racing heritage is Tim Ball, having his first outing.

He had a day long duel with Kiaan Aylward, with Kiaan eventually pipping him to 4th spot.

Despite suffering from a bout of flu, Caleb Odendaal claimed his second pole of the day in the Micro Max Class. He was joined on the front row by Tyler Stephen ahead of Scot Heideman and Lincoln Randall, having his first outing in this class. Tyler Stephen took an early lead going into the hairpin and from there on the top two were rarely separated by more than a quarter of a second.

After three heats of racing there was still nothing in it, Caleb kept applying relentless pressure hoping to push Tyler into a mistake and it is a credit to these two drivers for the close racing that they provided without either of them making one mistake. Scotty Heideman came in third with the ever improving Lincoln Randall taking 4th spot.

The Senior Academy Class, sponsored by GB Fitment Centre saw Juan Venter take the spoils ahead of Taitum Hansen and Jean de Kock, but one of the races of the day was the 4 stroke Clubmans Class.

In Class A the winner was Brady Choudree, who is proving himself to be quite an accomplished driver.

The evergreen Leeroy Randall claimed 2nd place ahead of Greg Thompson, having an excellent outing in 3rd place. Bryce Choudree edged out Derek Pratt for 4th placeahead of Reeno Swanepoel in 6th.

In Class B Andre Shrier won all three heats ahead of Junay de Kock, with Jason Collins claiming 3rd spot despite having a day plagued with mechanical woes. Leeroy Randall shared the front row ahead of Jono Stephen and Brady Choudree on row 2. This weekend was a milestone for the Stephen family as Neil Stephen celebrated the anniversary of his first ever kart race, exactly 49 years ago, by qualifying 5th alongside Julian Herman in 6th.

Geoff ran out an easy winner in heats one and two, but by the 3rd heat, Brady Choudree had come to grips with his new kart, and he brought the fight back to Geoff, with the two of them exchanging the lead, sometimes on a corner to corner basis. The win finally went Geoffs way, but Brady Choudree earned himself the Driver of the Day Award for his efforts on track. Jono Stephen finished up 3rd ahead of Leeroy Randall, Neil Stephen and Cherne Marais. W

The names of the little guys on the podium are: 1st Caleb Odendaal, 2nd Rhoderick Simpson, 3rd Jack Moore, 4th Caleb Moss (grey overall), 5th Lincoln Randall (wearing shorts), 6th Traiton Boshoff (in blue overall), 7th Isobel Ferreira

1 and 2. Bret Brito from Port Elizabeth leading Geoff Stephens from East London on his way to winning the Rotax DD2 event

Recent Posts

See All





99 Western Avenue, Vincent

East London, Eastern Cape

Tel: 043 050 5250

061 404 1657

Get all the latest news and updates from Eastern Cape Rising Sun.

©2019 Eastern Cape Rising Sun. Designed and developed by Media 101 | Eleven24 Design