• Eastern Cape Rising Sun

Cycling Winter Series begins

The first of the Amathole Track Cycling Winter Series took place at the Amalinda Cycle Track on Sunday. The event was split into four categories; Youth Mountain bike, Open Road, Youth Track and Open Track.

In the youth MTB, there was some keen racing between Jenson Jansen, Kyle Naude and Brandon Dengler. It was almost a clean sweep for Kyle Naude, winning the 1 500m, 2 000m and 5 Lap races and just losing out to Brandon Dengler in the 2 Lap Handicap.

In the youth track events there was some exciting racing in the 1 500m with Jed Bridger taking first place, followed closely by brothers Hayden and Zane Salzwedel. Madison Mann was hot on their wheels.

The 2 000m saw Jed taking the victory with Madison in second and Hayden in third. The 5 Lap race went to EJ Mollentze, riding in his first race on a Track bike, beating Jed and Madison.

This group finished their mornings racing with a 2-lap handicap and the scratch riders were forced to chase hard to reel in Riley Van Der Walt the youngest of the group, managing to just overhaul him.

In the road Category it was Eben Hartslief who won the 1 500m followed by Garth Goliath and Curt Hartslief. The 2 000m was won by Ryno Owen, followed by Garth Goliath and EJ Mollentze. The 3 000m saw Curt Hartslief take the win from Garth Goliath and a reversal with Garth taking the victory from Curt in the 2-lap event.

In the Open Track category, we had some excellent racing with a strong field represented from Junvenile to Masters riders. In the 1 500m it was Stephen Salzwedel who took the win from Gert Van Der Walt and Lourens Spies.

This was followed by the Keirin which is an event that has its origins in Japan and is a motor paced event led out by a motorcycle at 50km/h for the first 750m and then raced over the last 750m.

It was once again Stephen Salzwedel who pipped Gert Van Der Walt and Eben Hartslief in the sprint for the line.

The 3 000m saw an early attack from Ryno Owen forcing the group to chase hard to shut him down, with Eben Hartslief as the winner followed closely by Salzwedel and Van Der Walt. The last event of the day was a 6-lap handicap with Adrian Salzwedel, Alakhe Tshemese, Lourens Spies, Gwiba- Lokhuselo Mahlati making the scratch riders Gert van Der Walt, Eben Hartlief, Ryno Owen and Stephen Salzwedel work extremely hard to catch them. They were overhauled with victory going to Van Der Walt ahead of Hartslief and Owen.

The next event in the Series is will be on August 18, 2019 at the Amalinda Cycle Track.






99 Western Avenue, Vincent

East London, Eastern Cape

Tel: 043 050 5250

061 404 1657

Get all the latest news and updates from Eastern Cape Rising Sun.

©2019 Eastern Cape Rising Sun. Designed and developed by Media 101 | Eleven24 Design