• Eastern Cape Rising Sun

Hockey League Champs 2019

Ladies Premier League Champions, Parkside claimed the double for the club.

Border Hockey held its end of season league finals over the weekend at Buco Astro Park.

The Ladies Premier League final was a fairly one-sided affair as Parkside ran away with a 10-2 win over Buffs.

Luche Klaasen opened the scoring in the tenth minute with a penalty stroke and followed this with a clean strike from a penalty corner.

Buffs replied through Cara Sanders after the restart leaving the score at 2-1 at the end of the first chukka. Parkside’s performance was a great team effort, however Luche Klaasen’s five goals in the match was the highlight.

The Buffs team had great periods of play, in defence Toni Bezuidenhout and goalkeeper Saskia Cressey put in a lot of work to fend off the Parkside attack while Cailin McClure was crucial to their midfield efforts.

The Men’s Premier League final was a much closer game with Parkside edging United 5-3. Austin Jegels opened the scoring for Parkside with a penalty corner in the thirteenth minute, but Keegan Hykes scored for United a minute later to end the first chukka 1-1. The second chukka saw United's Kaden Barlow score first before Parkside leveled the scores with a penalty corner goal from captain Reberto Bosman in the final minute.

Parkside pulled ahead in the third with goals from Curtis Macqena and Callen Hansen. Parkside scored their fifth goal half way into the fourth through a superb field goal from Tyler Mackenzie. United added one more to their tally at the end of the final chukka through Teegan Jordaan.

The Ladies First League final was closely contested and highly entertaining for the crowd. The game ended tied on four goals each, with Margo Smith, Chanda Burton (2) and Sarah Jane Lentz scoring for Buffs and Jamie Kock, Tremaine Oliphant and Zukhanyo Tyalintsika (2) scoring for Parkside. The winner was decided through a shoot out with Buffs scoring four and Parkside 3.

The Mens First League final was won by Bohemians 2 (4-1 over Old Boys 1). Aya Gqamane (2), Nic Wiltshire and Bailey Conroy scored for Bohs while Bryan Voke scored Old Boys only goal.

The Ladies Second League final was closely contested between Phoenix and Fort Hare East London with both teams desperately wanting the promotion to the first league. Phoenix came away with a 3-2 win through Akhile Mdlalane (2) and Kaylene Jimmy. Jacquinn Davids scored both of Fort Hare’s goals.

The Mens Second League final was won by United 3 (4-0). Goals were scored by Adi Sutherland, Gallen Kallides, Ralton Fortuin and Lance Casojee. Final placings: 1 - United 3, 2 - Bohs 3, 3 - Bohs 4, 4 - Stutterheim, 5 - Buffs 3, 6 - Duncan Village.

Parkside mens edged United 5-3 to be crowned Hockey Premier League Champions.


Recent Posts

See All





99 Western Avenue, Vincent

East London, Eastern Cape

Tel: 043 050 5250

061 404 1657

Get all the latest news and updates from Eastern Cape Rising Sun.

©2019 Eastern Cape Rising Sun. Designed and developed by Media 101 | Eleven24 Design